CPR

center for policy research

To: Georgia Child Support Guidelines Statute Review Subcommittee
From: Jane Venohr

Date: June 22, 2023

RE: Calculation of Different Timesharing Formulas and Case Examples

This memorandum compares the outcomes of the following timesharing formulas applied to the existing
Georgia table:

e Cross-credit with 1.5 multiplier and no threshold (but the time-shared adjusted amount can never

be more than the sole custody formula);

e The MN formula with an exponent of 3;

e The Ml formula with an exponent of 2.5;

e The MN/MI formula with an exponent of 1.75 (which closely tracks to OR) and 2 (old MI); and

e The Oregon formula.
The scenarios were developed by subcommittee members. They underscore issues with defining
overnights/days and split custody. Those issues are also addressed in this memorandum.

The next three exhibits demonstrate the manual calculation of
e the cross-credit formula;
e  MN/MI formula with an exponent of 2; and

e the Oregon formula.
They appeared in the April memorandum and the May addendum. MN and MI do not step out the

calculation in the worksheet; rather, they automate it.

Exhibit 1: lllustration of Cross-Credit Formula with 150% Multiplier and Using Existing Georgia Income Shares Table: One Child

Line Parent A Parent B Combined
1 Monthly Adjusted Gross Income $3,100 $4,300 $7,400
2 Percentage Share of Income 42% 58% 100%
3 Basic Obligation for 1 Child (Combined Line 1 applied to table) $462 $638 $1,100
4 Each Parent’s Share (Line 3 x each parent’s Line 2)

5 Shared Custody Basic Obligation (Line 3 x 1.5) $1,650
6 Each Parent’s Share (Line 5 x each parent’s Line 2) $693 $957

7 Overnights with Each Parent (must total 365) 265 100 365
8 Percentage Time with Each Parent (Line 7 divided by 365) 73% 27% 100%
9 Amount Retained (Line 6 x Line 8 for each parent) $506 $258

10 Each Parent’s Obligation (Line 6 — Line 9) $187 $699

11 Shared Custody Obligation (Subtract smaller from larger on Line 10) $512

12 Final Order (lessor of Line 4 and 11) $512
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MN/MI Formula (Instead of 2, MN uses 3)
(Ao)?(Bs)? - (Bo)(As)?
(Aq)? +(Bo)?

Where

Ao — Approximate annual number of overnights the children will spend with parent A
Bo — Approximate annual number of overnights the children will spend with parent B
A — Parent A’s base support obligation

B — Parent B’s base support obligation

Exhibit 2: lllustration of MIN/MI Formula Assuming an Exponent of 2 Using Existing Georgia Income Shares Table: One Child

Line ParentA  ParentB = Combined
1 Monthly Adjusted Gross Income $3,100 $4,300 $7,400
2 Percentage Share of Income 41.89% 58.11% 100%
3 Basic Obligation for 1 Child (Combined Line 1 applied to table) $1,100

4 Each Parent’s Share of Basic Obligation for 1 Child (Line 3 multiplied by Line 2 $460.79 $639.21
for each parent)

5 Overnights with Each Parent (must total 365) 265 100 365
6 Percentage of Time with Each Parent (Line 7 divided by 365, DO NOT USE 0.726 0.274 1.00
PERCENTAGE SIGN)
7 Other Parent’s Time Share (for Parent A, use Parent B’s Line 6; for Parent B, 0.274 XA 0.726
use Parent A’s Line 6)
8 Other Parent’s Time Share (Enter information again from Line 7 on Line 8) 0.274 0.726
9 Adjustment for disparity in timeshare (Add Parent A’s Line 8 to Parent B’s Line 0.6022

8 and put the sum in the Combined Column)
10 Timesharing to the 2" power (Line 7 multiplied by Line 8; this is the same thing 0.0751 0.5271
as taking Line 7 to an exponent of 2)

11 Each parent’s timesharing weight (Line 10 for each parent divided by 0.1247 0.8753
combined from Line 9)

12 Amount Owed to Other Parent (Line 4 multiplied by Line 11) $57.46 $559.50

13 Child Support Order: for the parent with the larger amount on Line 12 $502.04

subtract the smaller amount on Line 12 from the larger amount on Line 12

Exhibit 3 lllustration of Oregon Using Existing Georgia Income Shares Table: One Child

Line ParentA  ParentB = Combined
1 Monthly Adjusted Gross Income $3,100 $4,300 $7,400
2 Percentage Share of Income 41.89% 58.11% 100%
3 Basic Obligation for 1 Child (Combined Line 1 applied to table) $1,100

4 Each Parent’s Share of Basic Obligation for 1 Child (Line 3 multiplied by Line 2 $460.79 $639.21
for each parent)

5 Overnights with Each Parent (must total 365) 265 100 365
6 Percentage Adjustment from Oregon Table for Lesser Time Parent (If equal J .1537

number of days use 0.50 for the higher income parent). —\_
7 Dollar Amount of Parenting Time Adjustment for Lesser Time Parent ngfw

(Line 3 Combined multiplied by Line 6)

8 Child Support Order (Line 4 minus Line 7 W) $470.14

From OR Table (excerpted on next page) i
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Exhibit 4: Excerpt of Oregon Table

0 000% 36 319% 72 867% @ 108 @ 17.77%
i i . (] . (] o (] o (]
Unit of Time 1 007% : 37 i 330% @ 73  8.87% 109 & 18.09%
. . . . . 9 0 9 9
The Parenting Time Deviation Study Committee: § 8';‘;;’ ;2 ;:i; ;‘5" 2'23;’ ﬂg 12";’;;’
. (] . (] . (] . (]
e recommended a two-year time frame for averaging 4 028% 40 366% 76  9.48% @ 112 = 19.06%
H . . (] . (] A (] A (]
days/overnights 5 035% 41 | 3.78% @ 77 . 9.68% | 113 @ 19.39%

7’
) N 6 042% 42  391% @ 78 @ 9.90% 114 @ 19.72%
e did not reach consensus on a definition; and, oA T A3 T A oAn T TI041% i1 T 30.06%
e recognized that some sister states had no definition, 8 057% 44  416% @ 80  10.33% = 116 = 20.40%
some used the term, “overnights.” And some used more |..2. 065% 45 430% 81 A 10.55% 117  20.75%
than 12 h ina24-h iod 10 | 0.72% 46 = 4.43% @ 82 | 10.77% @ 118 @ 21.10%
an oursin a za-hour period. 11 0.80% | 47 | 4.56% @ 83 | 11.00% | 119 | 21.45%
12 0.88% @ 48  4.70% @ 84 | 11.23% @ 120 @ 21.81%
There were several comments of Committee members that 13 [096% 49  A84% 8 AL47e 121 | 22.17%
) ) o 14 | 1.04% @ 50  4.98% @ 86 & 11.70% @ 122 @ 22.54%
tried to solve the problem for parents with nontraditional 153 el e e T ey A% 193 T 95 90%
workhours/time-sharing arrangements through various 16..121% 52 | 527% | 88 12.19% 124 | 23.27%
o . . 17 | 1.29% 53  5.41% @ 89 | 12.43% . 125 | 23.65%
definitions of days, overnights, and counting of hours. Although 18 T 138% ea oten o0 1368% 126 T 24.03%
a clear definition did not emerge from the comments, the 19 | 147% 55 5.71% . 91 | 12.94% @ 127 . 24.41%
C itt b buiously beli that traditional 20 | 1.56% @ 56 | 5.87% @ 92 | 13.19% : 128 @ 24.80%
ommittee members obviously believe that nontraditiona ST e e T e T es T s aen T 56 T e Tom
workhours/timesharing arrangements should be fairly 22 1.74% 58  6.18% @ 94  13.72% = 130 = 25.58%
. 0, 0, o o
addressed. Other comments underscored how electronic 22 1’?‘3‘;’ Zg 22‘1‘; 22 122?; 12; 22'22;
. (] . (] . (] . (]
calculators and sample parenting schedules could be very 25 1 2.03% 61  6.67% 97 | 14.53% : 133 | 26.78%
helpful to counting days. Still, other comments expressed is ;;;; Z; s-g‘l‘z//" /22, 14.80% 12;‘ i;ég;
. (] o (] ‘_]5'6-8.4. (] . (]
concerns about some state definitions being too complicated. 58 TS a0 T ea T a0 U100 T 15 370 3 136 T 8 01%
29 | 2.43% @ 65  7.36% @ 10T % @ 137 @ 28.43%
. - . . 30 | 2.53% | 66 | 7.54% @ 102 | 15.95% : 138 | 28.85%
The Appendix (Exhibit A.1) shows examples of unit of time from TS e e TS e e T sae T 156 156 555
other state guidelines. Minnesota’s definition is the least 32 £ 2.74% | 68 | 7.91% @ 104 | 16.54% | 140 @ 29.70%
specific. Arizona is the most specific: Arizona breaks it down to 33.,.28% 09 80% 105 168%% 141 30.13%
P : P : 34 1 2.96% | 70 | 8.28% @ 106 | 17.15% | 142 . 30.56%
a % day (3 to 4-hour blocks). Kentucky, Tennessee and Virginia 35 | 3.08% . 71  8.47% @ 107 | 17.46% . 143 | 31.00%

use 12-hour blocks. Arizona is written in the most plainspeak, although allowing % days and % days can be a
tedious calculation. On the other hand, % - % days would recognize the costs associated with an evening meal for
those schedules calling for an evening. Oregon addresses this by allowing 4-12 hours to be half days.

Parts of Kentucky’s definition seem appropriate for Georgia (e.g., reference to 12 consecutive hours in 24-hour
period). Kentucky does not require the averaging of overnights/days over a 2-year period, which is a tall order in
practice. Further, it may be simpler to use the criteria that many states use: the amount of time that is ordered
and exercised. Many parents will not have been separated for two years. Oregon and Minnesota specifically
mention alternatives to “overnights/days” aimed at parents with non-traditional work schedules/non-traditional
timesharing schedules.

Counting 1%, 3 and 5 week of Every Month
One issue specific to Georgia is the parenting plan template published by many local Georgia courts use the
parenting-time option of the 1%, 3 and 5™ Week of Every Month.* Most of these templates mirror the form in Ga.

1 See Southern District Court at https://www.southernjudicialcircuit.com/selfhelp /parentingplan/contestedplan.pd Fulton Court at
https://www.fultoncourt.org/sites/default/files/family /forms/general /Parenting%?20Plan.pdf , and the Chattachoochee Court at
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R. Super. Ct. 24.10 (See Appendix A.2 for statutory provision directing the court to provide the parenting plan
template.) As shown in Exhibit 5, it provides an option that includes a 5" week. This makes the calculation of
overnights/days per year (which is the basis of all of the timesharing adjustments) more difficult to calculate. This
is because, on average, a month has 4.33 weeks based on 12 months divided by 52 weeks per year; yet, months
have either 28, 30 or 31 days. Exacerbating the difficulty of the calculation is the inconsistency of a 5" weekend,
and when there is a 5™ weekend, it doesn’t occur in the same month from year to year. Exhibit 5 also shows that
start time and end time of a weekend can vary. In contrast, DeKalb County’s version limits the template to first
and third weekend of every month from Friday at 6:00 pm until Sunday at 6:00 pm.

Exhibit 5: Excerpt of Parenting-Plan Template

b) Parenting Time/Visitation Schedules
During the term of this parenting plan the non-custodial parent shall have at a
minimum the following rights of parenting time/ visitation (choose an item):
[] The weekend of the first and third Friday of each month.
[] The weekend of the first, third, and fifth Friday of each month.

[C] The weekend of the second and fourth Friday of each month.

[] Every other weekend starting on

Parenting Plan April 2011 Page 3 of 10

Provided by the Chattahoochee Judicial Circunt

[] Each starting at a.m./p.m. and ending
a.m./p.m.

https://cflc.columbusga.gov/Portals/CFLC/Forms/Legitimation/Parenting-Plan-v2.pdf The DeKalb template specifies it a little
differently https://www.dekalbsuperiorcourt.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/fillable ParentingPlanAgreement.pdf
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Exhibit 6: Excerpt of DeKalb County Parenting-Plan Template

“Exhibit A" - Visitation Schedule

If the parents cannot agree on specific visitation, the shall have the

right to visitation according to the schedule below. To resolve any conflicts in the visitation provided under this

schedule, the holiday visitation provided under paragraph (b) shall have priority over the weekend and summer
visitation in paragraphs (a) and (c).

(a)

(b)

Weekends — The first and third weekends of every month, from Friday at 6:00 p.m. until Sunday at 6:00
p.m. The first and third weekends shall be defined as the weekends containing the first and third Fridays
of the month.

[NOTE: When filling out the Holiday section, please check only one preference
and be careful not to check the same years for both parenis.
For example, if you check Even-number years for Father to have Spring vacation,
then you should not also check Even-number years for Mother to have Spring vacation. |

Holidays — The child(ren) shall spend holidays with each parent on the following schedule:

Holiday With Father With Mother

Spring vacation, from 6:00 p.m. on the day school lets

If none of the child{ren) 1s enrolled in school, this vacation

out for vacation, until 6:00 p.m. on the day before
the child{ren) return to school.

shall be for up to one week (seven consecutive [JEven-number years  |[_] Odd-number years
days) during the months of March or April; []Odd-number years [JEven-number years
provided that the visiting parent shall give written
notice of the chosen week to the other parent at
least 30 days prior to the beginning of this
visitation.

Questions for Subcommittee on Definition of Days/Overnights

a.

What are the reactions to Kentucky’s language about 12-consecutive hours in a 24-hour period under the care,

control, and etc...?

1. Canit be tweaked for Georgia?

2. Does it matter if the term, “day” or “overnight” is used? Kentucky uses “day” but defines it carefully.

3. s the KY provision about “ordered” and “consistently exercised” appropriate as criteria for Georgia?

Should Georgia add discretionary language such as Minnesota and Oregon provide to accommodate

alternative work schedules/timesharing schedules?

Should Georgia account for % days such as Arizona and Oregon do? On the one hand, this would account for

the food cost of every other evening. On the other hand, it complicates the calculation of days/overnights.

How should Georgia address the complicated calculation of a 5" weekend?

1. Canand should the parenting plan template provided by the Court be modified?

2. Can the parenting plan template provided by the Court be automated to calculate days automatically like
Oregon’s template does?

Is Georgia attached to the idea of using “average of two consecutive years” when it is a tall order for parents

to have that evidence or would “ordered and exercised” be sufficient?
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Split Custody/Children with Different Parenting Time Schedules
The current Georgia guidelines address split custody. It requires two worksheets to be completed: one for each
parent.

Exhibit 7: Excerpts from Current GA Guidelines on Split Custody

20. Split parenting" can occur in a child support case only if there are two or more children of the same parents, when one
parent is the custodial parent for at least one child of the parents, and the other parent is the custodial parent for at least
one other child of the parents. In a split parenting case, each parent is the custodial parent of any child spending more than
50 percent of the time with that parent and is the noncustodial parent of any child spending more than 50 percent of the
time with the other parent. A split parenting situation shall have two custodial parents and two noncustodial parents, but
no child shall have more than one custodial parent or noncustodial parent.

10. In a split parenting case, there shall be a separate calculation and final order for each parent;

Most states also take the approach of two worksheets with an additional step: specify that the order shall be the
difference between the two worksheets with the difference being owed by the parent owing the larger amounts.

Arizona has very clear language for split custody. It also specifies that if all of the children have the majority of
time with one parent, average the time among the children. Arizona specifies to use the difference from the two
worksheet approach if each parent has more than 50% time with at least one child.

Questions for Subcommittee on Split Custody and Different Shared-Parenting Time

a. For split custody, instead of specifying two orders, should Georgia specify that the order is the difference
between the two order amounts and owed by the parent owing the great amount? This is the approach used
by most states. An advantage of this approach is that there is one order, which is less confusing.

b. Should Georgia adopt Arizona’s language about using
1. the split custody formula when each parent has more than 50% time with at least one child; and,
2. averaging the time when one parent has more than 50% of time with all children for whom support is

being determined but the parenting time schedule varies among the children?
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Case Scenarios
Exhibit 8: Case Scenarios Provided by Subcommittee Members (Cases are reordered so the more complicated cases occur at the end)

Case Scenario # of Dad’s Mom’s | Primary | Number of GA Sole Cross- Old Mi (e Ml (e= MN(e=3) | MI/MN (e | OR
children | Gross Gross Custody | overnights Credit =2.0) 2.5) =1.75)
income | Income with
alternate
primary
5| Dad’s gross income is
$2,088/mo. and
mom’s ,IS $3,828/mo. 125 $22 (if no
Two children. Dad’s 2 $2,088 | $3,828 Mom ) $485 $192 $260 $315 $152 $160
. overnights threshold)
parenting time is
approximately 125
nights per year.
6 | Same as above with 182.5 Mom owes Mom Mom Mom Mom Mom
equal parenting time. 2 $2,088 | $3,828 Equal ’ $485 owesdad | owesdad | owesdad | owesdad | owesdad
overnights dad $303
$202 $202 $202 $202 $202
7 | Mom’s gross income
is $2,615/mo. dad’s is
53,464. One child. 1 $3,464 | $2,615 | Mom 100 $567 >294 (if no $443 $487 $516 $414 $414
Dad'’s parenting time overnights threshold)
is approximately 100
nights per year.
8 | Same as above with 182.5
equal parenting time. 1 $3,464 $2,615 Equal overnights $567 $104 S69 S69 $69 $69 $69
9| Same as above with $567
dad exercising only (cross-
about 50 nights per 1 $3,464 | $2,615 | Mom >0 $567 creditis $543 $557 $563 $529 $517
year. overnights not less
than sole
calculation)
4 | Two kids. Dad’s
monthly gross
income is: $14,746.
Mom’s monthly gross 2 $14,746 | $8,795 | Mom 153 $1,773 $880 $804 $905 $1,000 $751 $767
income is: $8,795. overnights
The kids live with
mom. Dad’s
parenting time is
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Case Scenario # of Dad’s Mom’s | Primary Number of GA Sole Cross- Old Ml (e Ml (e = MN(e=3) | MI/MN (e | OR
children | Gross Gross Custody | overnights Credit =2.0) 2.5) =1.75)
income | Income with
alternate
primary
every 1st, 3rd, and
5th weekend from
Thurs — Monday +
Thursday night in the
off week and a dinner
on Monday after
mom’s weekend.
That’s 5 of 14
overnights + a dinner
during the school
year (10 months)
then, equal split in
the summer. Plus,
the parents split
holidays. Dad’s time
is about 153 over
nights per year.
1| Two minor children, a
a | boy 5yrs and a girl 10 mos
3yrs _ 10 mos X 2.5
Dad's gross anome nights per
was somewhere
between $3500 week X 4.33
(base) to $6,000 wks/per
(with overtime) per month =
month. 108.25
Mom's gross income | , $4,750 | $2,600 | Mom $988 $609 $568 $638 $700 $530 $547
was $2600 per month 2 mos
% *2 mos X
the parenting time 4.33 wks X 7
for the non-custodial days = 30.31
parent would be 5
out of 14 nights for TOTAL =
10 months per year
and week-on/ week- 138.56 (38%
off for 2 months. timesharing)
1| If Dad gets primary 2 $4,750 $2,600 Split Each parent Dad owes Dad owes Dad owes Dad owes Dad owes Dad owes Dad owes
b | custody of the 5 yr has the mom:$708 | mom:$436 | mom:$407 | mom:$458 | mom:$501 | mom:$380 | mom:$392
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Case Scenario # of Dad’s Mom’s | Primary Number of GA Sole Cross- Old Ml (e Ml (e = MN(e=3) | MI/MN (e | OR
children | Gross Gross Custody | overnights Credit =2.0) 2.5) =1.75)
income | Income with

alternate

primary
old while Mom has above for 1 Mom Mom owes | Mom Mom Mom Mom Mom
primary custody of child owes Dad: | Dad:=-$45 | owes Dad: | owes Dad: | owes owes Dad: | owes Dad:
the 3 year old, what $388 Difference | $87 $137 Dad:$181 | $60 $72
is the child Difference | =$481* Difference | Difference | Difference | Difference | Difference
support? =$320 = $320* =$321% =$320 =$320 =$320

3| Two kids. Mom’s 2 $13,523 | $12,022 | Mom Dad’s time $1,537 + support for | Base Base Base Base Base

gross income is: w/ oldest $203 for 52nights = support support support support support
$12,022/ mo. Dad’s child=0 prorated $1,537 for for for for for
gross income is share of 55 nights = | 52nights = | 52nights = | 52nights= | 52nights= | 52nights =
$13,523/mo. Mom Dad’s time insurance | $1,537 $1,459 $1,505 $1,524 $1,417 $1,384
pays kids” health w/ youngest | =$1,740 62 nights = | 55 nights 55 nights 55 nights 55 nights 55 nights
insurance premiums child =... $1,537 =$1,449 =$1,499 =$1,521 =$1,403 =$1,371
of $382.78. Mom has 62 nights 62 nights 62 nights 62 nights 62 nights
primary physical 2 Base =$1,421 =$1,483 =$1,513 =$1,367 =$1,339
custody of both kids. nights/week +prorated
Dad has no parenting X 52 weeks insurance = | Base Base Base Base Base
time with oldest =104 $1,740 +prorated | +prorated | +prorated | +prorated | +prorated
child. Dad’s insurance insurance insurance insurance insurance
parenting time with 1 full week = = = = = =
younger child is 4 7=7 $1,662, $1,708 $1,727, $1,620, $1,587,
overnights out of 14 Subtotal = $1,652,& | $1,702, & | $1,724,& | $1,606, & | $1,574,&
and one dinner. In 111 $1,624 $1,686 $1,716 $1,570 $1,542
the summer dad’s
has parenting time 1 dinner X
(with only the 26 weeks x %
youngest) is the day =13
same, plus one full If % day = 6.5
week.

TOTAL= 104

if dinner

doesn’t

count

111 if dinner

counts as %

day
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Case Scenario

# of
children

Dad’s
Gross
income

Mom'’s
Gross
Income

Primary
Custody

Number of
overnights
with
alternate
primary

GA Sole

Cross-
Credit

Old Ml (e
=2.0)

Ml (e =
2.5)

MN (e =3)

MI/MN (e
=1.75)

OR

124 if dinner
counts as %
day

Divide it in
half because
1 child, so
either 52, 55
or 62
overnights

Parties agree to a
2,2,3 equal custody
arrangement for 1
child 10yrs old.
Mom's gross income
is $8,500 per month
and Dad's is $6,000.
Mom paid health
insurance premiums
at about $180 per
month. Dad wanted
Mom to pay him
some child support
and Mom was not
asking for any
support from Dad.

$6,000

$8,500

Equal
with tip
to mom
assuming
she has
the 4
days per
week

Use 50/50
for 1 option
and
57%/43% for
the other
option
because 4
nights out of
7is57%

Dad pays
mom:
$659

Equal:
Mom pays
dad = $206

57/43:
Dad pays
mom $39

50/50:
Mom
owes dad
$137

57/32:
Mom
owes dad
$26

50/50:
Mom
owes dad
$137

57/32:
Dad owes
mom $81

50/50:
Mom
owes dad
$137

57/32:
Dad owes
mom $81

50/50:
Mom
owes dad
$137

57/32:
Dad owes
mom $55

50/50:
Mom
owes dad
$137

57/32:
Dad owes
mom $63

*Could be capped at split custody amount.
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Exhibit A.1: Examples of Unit of Time in Other States

State Definition of Days/Overnights
AZ C. To adjust for the costs of parenting time, first determine the total annual amount of parenting
(guidelines time indicated in a court order, a parenting plan, by the parents” expectation, or by historical
set in practice. Using the following for guidance. add together each block of parenting time to arrive
court rule) at the total number of parenting-time days per year. Calculate the number of parenting-time
days arising from any block of time the child spends with the parent with less parenting time
in the following manner:
1. Count 1 day of parenting time for each 24 hours within any block of time: and
2. To the extent there is a period of less than 24 hours remaining in the block of time, after
all 24-hour days are counted or for any block of time which is in total less than 24 hours in
duration:
a. A period of 12 hours or more counts as | day:
b. A period of 6 to 11 hours counts as a 1/2-day:
¢. A period of 3 to 5 hours counts as a 1/4-day; and
d. Periods of less than 3 hours may count as a 1/4-day 1if, during those hours, the parent
with less parenting time pays for routine expenses of the child, such as meals.
Example 1: Bailey and Jules have 1 child. Bailey has less parenting time than Jules. In
alternating weeks, Bailey receives the child at 8:00 p.m. on Thursday and returns the child
to Jules at 7:00 a.m. on Monday.
8:00 p.m. Thursday to 8:00 p.m. Sunday is 3 days.
8:00 p.m. Sunday to 7:00 a.m. Monday is 11 hours, which equals a 1/2 day.
Total parenting time for Bailey is 3 and 1/2 days for that alternating week.
KY* Section 403.2121 - "Day" defined - Minimum requirement for shared parenting time credit - Establishment of

adjustment to child support obligations based upon parenting time - Modification of child support - Children
receiving public assistance

(1) For purposes of this section, "day":

(a) Means more than twelve (12) consecutive hours in a twenty-four (24) hour period under the care, control,
or direct supervision of one (1) parent or caretaker, or as the court determines based on findings of
substantially equivalent care or expense; and

(b) Unless the context requires otherwise, includes housing, entertaining, feeding, and transporting the child,
attending to school work, athletic events, extracurricular activities, or other activities that transfer with the
child as he or she moves from one parent to the other.

(2)

(a) In order to receive a shared parenting time credit, a parent shall maintain care, custody, and control over
the child for a minimum of seventy-three (73) days per year, as defined by this section.

(b) The shared parenting time credit shall only be applicable for parenting time that is court-ordered or
approved and consistently exercised.
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Ml

3.03(C) Apply the parental time offset to adjust a base support obligation whenever the
approximate annual number of overnights that each parent will likely provide care for
the children-in-common can be determined. When possible, determine the approximate
number based on past practice.

3.03(C) Apply the parental time offset to adjust a base support obligation whenever the
approximate annual number of overnights that each parent will likely provide care for
the children-in-common can be determined. When possible, determine the approximate
number based on past practice.

(1)  When different children spend different numbers of overnights with the parents,
use the average of the children’s overnights.

(2)  Absent credible evidence of changed practices, presume the same approximate
number that was used in determining the most recent support order.

(3) Incases without a past determination or other credible evidence, presume the
approximate number of overnights granted in the terms of the current custody or
parenting time order.

(4) Credit a parent for overnights a child lawfully and actually spends with that parent
including those exercised outside the terms of the currently effective order. This
may happen by agreement, or when one parent voluntarily foregoes time granted
in the order. Do not consider overnights exercised in violation of an order.

(a) Ifaparent produces credible evidence that the approximate number
exercised differs from the number granted by the custody or parenting time
order, credit the number according to the evidence without requiring
someone to formally petition to modify the custody or parenting time order.

(b) When the most recent support order deviated based on an agreement to use
a number of overnights that differed from actual practice, absent some other
change warranting modification, credible evidence of changed practices
only includes an order changing the custody or parenting time schedule.

3.03(D) If a substantial difference occurs in the number of overnights used to set the order and
those actually exercised (at least 21 overnights or that causes a change of circumstances
exceeding the modification threshold (§4.05)), either parent or a support recipient may
seek adjustment by filing a motion to modify the order.

3.03(E) So the court can know if circumstances have changed at the time of a subsequent
determination, every child support order must indicate whether it includes a parental
time offset and the number of overnights used in its calculation.

MN

Every child support order shall specify the percentage of parenting time granted to or presumed for each
parent. For purposes of this section, the percentage of parenting time means the percentage of time a child is
scheduled to spend with the parent during a calendar year according to a court order averaged over a two-
year period. Parenting time includes time with the child whether it is designated as visitation, physical
custody, or parenting time. The percentage of parenting time may be determined by calculating the number
of overnights or overnight equivalents that a parent spends with a child pursuant to a court order. For
purposes of this section, overnight equivalents are calculated by using a method other than overnights if the
parent has significant time periods on separate days where the child is in the parent's physical custody and
under the direct care of the parent but does not stay overnight. The court may consider the age of the child in
determining whether a child is with a parent for a significant period of time.

OR

(a) Determine the average number of overnights using two consecutive year

(c) Notwithstanding the calculation provided in subsections (2)( a) and (2)(b), parenting time may be
determined using a method other than overnights if the parents have an alternative parenting time schedule
in which a parent has significant time periods where the minor child is in the parent’s physical custody but
does not stay overnight. For example, in lieu of overnights,12 continuous hours may be counted as one day.
Additionally, blocks of time of four hours up to 12-hours may be counted as half-days, but not in conjunction
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with overnights. Regardless of the method used, blocks of time may not be used to equal more than one full
day per 24-hour period.

TN

(10) “Days” — For purposes of this chapter, a “day” of parenting time occurs when the child spends more
than twelve (12) consecutive hours in a twenty-four (24) hour period under the care, control or direct
supervision of one parent or caretaker. The twenty-four (24) hour period need not be the same as a twenty-
four (24) hour calendar day. Accordingly, a “day” of parenting time may encompass either an overnight
period or a daytime period, or a combination thereof. In extraordinary circumstances, routinely incurred
parenting time of shorter duration may be cumulated as a single day for parenting time purposes

VA

Definition of a day. For the purposes of this section, "day" means a period of 24 hours; however, where the
parent who has the fewer number of overnight periods during the year has an overnight period with a child,
but has physical custody of the shared child for less than 24 hours during such overnight period, there is a
presumption that each parent shall be allocated one-half of a day of custody for that period.

Exhibit A.2: Georgia Code on Parenting Plans

a.

2022 Georgia Code

Title 19 - Domestic Relations

Chapter 9 - Child Custody Proceedings

Article 1 - General Provisions

§ 19-9-1. Parenting Plans; Requirements for Plan
Universal Citation: GA Code § 19-9-1 (2022)

Except when a parent seeks emergency relief for family violence pursuant to Code Section 19-13-3 or 19-13-4, in all cases in which
the custody of any child is at issue between the parents, each parent shall prepare a parenting plan or the parties may jointly submit
a parenting plan. It shall be in the court’s discretion as to when a party shall be required to submit a parenting plan to the court. A
parenting plan shall be required for permanent custody and modification actions and in the court’s discretion may be required for
temporary hearings. The final order in any legal action involving the custody of a child, including modification actions, shall
incorporate a permanent parenting plan as further set forth in this Code section; provided, however, that unless otherwise ordered
by the court, a separate court order exclusively devoted to a parenting plan shall not be required.

1. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, a parenting plan shall include the following:

A.

?>N

A recognition that a close and continuing parent-child relationship and continuity in the child’s life will be in the child’s best
interest;

A recognition that the child’s needs will change and grow as the child matures and demonstrate that the parents will make an
effort to parent that takes this issue into account so that future modifications to the parenting plan are minimized;

A recognition that a parent with physical custody will make day-to-day decisions and emergency decisions while the child is
residing with such parent; and

That both parents will have access to all of the child’s records and information, including, but not limited to, education, health,
health insurance, extracurricular activities, and religious communications.

. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, or agreed upon by the parties, a parenting plan shall include, but not be limited to:

Where and when a child will be in each parent’s physical care, designating where the child will spend each day of the year;
How holidays, birthdays, vacations, school breaks, and other special occasions will be spent with each parent including the
time of day that each event will begin and end;

Transportation arrangements including how the child will be exchanged between the parents, the location of the exchange,
how the transportation costs will be paid, and any other matter relating to the child spending time with each parent;
Whether supervision will be needed for any parenting time and, if so, the particulars of the supervision;

An allocation of decision-making authority to one or both of the parents with regard to the child’s education, health,
extracurricular activities, and religious upbringing, and if the parents agree the matters should be jointly decided, how to
resolve a situation in which the parents disagree on resolution;

What, if any, limitations will exist while one parent has physical custody of the child in terms of the other parent contacting the
child and the other parent’s right to access education, health, extracurricular activity, and religious information regarding the
child; and

If a military parent is a party in the case...
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Exhibit A.3: Treatment of Split Custody/Different Parenting Time Arrangements among Children

State

Split Custody/Different Parenting-Time Schedules

AZ
(guidelines
setin
court rule)

If the parents have multiple children and each parent exercises more than half of the parenting time with at
least 1 child, 2 Child Support Worksheets are prepared. Each worksheet will calculate the child support owed
based on which parent has the most parenting time with the child. The amount of child support to be paid by
the parent having the greater child support obligation is reduced by the amount of child support owed to that
parent by the other parent.

If the parents have multiple children with different parenting plans but one parent does not have more than
half of the parenting time with any of the children, prepare only 1 Child Support Worksheet. The child
support obligation is determined by using an average of the total number of parenting days by adding the

Ml

(1) When different children spend different numbers of overnights with the parents,
use the average of the children’s overnights.

MN

(c) If the parents have split custody of joint children, child support must be calculated for each joint child as
follows:

(1) the court shall determine each parent's basic support obligation under paragraph (b) and include the
amount of each parent's obligation in the court order. If the basic support calculation results in each parent
owing support to the other, the court shall offset the higher basic support obligation with the lower basic
support obligation to determine the amount to be paid by the parent with the higher obligation to the parent
with the lower obligation. For the purpose of the cost-of-living adjustment required under section 518A.75,
the adjustment must be based on each parent's basic support obligation prior to offset. For the purposes of
this paragraph, "split custody" means that there are two or more joint children and each parent has at least
one joint child more than 50 percent of the time;

(2) if each parent pays all child care expenses for at least one joint child, the court shall calculate child care
support for each joint child as provided in section 518A.40. The court shall determine each parent's child care
support obligation and include the amount of each parent's obligation in the court order. If the child care
support calculation results in each parent owing support to the other, the court shall offset the higher child
care support obligation with the lower child care support obligation to determine the amount to be paid by
the parent with the higher obligation to the parent with the lower obligation; and

(3) if each parent pays all medical or dental insurance expenses for at least one joint child, medical support
shall be calculated for each joint child as provided in section 518A.41. The court shall determine each parent's
medical support obligation and include the amount of each parent's obligation in the court order. If the
medical support calculation results in each parent owing support to the other, the court shall offset the
higher medical support obligation with the lower medical support obligation to determine the amount to be
paid by the parent with the higher obligation to the parent with the lower obligation. Unreimbursed and
uninsured medical expenses are not included in the presumptive amount of support owed by a parent and
are calculated and collected as provided in section 518A.41.

OR

(b) “Split custody” means that there are two or more children and each parent has at least one
child more than 50 percent of the time

TN

Average Parenting Time.
If there are multiple children for whom support is being calculated, and the ARP is spending a different
amount of time with each child, then an annual average of parenting time with all of the children shall be
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calculated. For example, if the ARP has sixty-seven (67) days of parenting time per year with Child A, eighty-
four (84) days of parenting time per year with Child B, and one hundred thirty-two (132)

days of parenting time per year with Child C, then the Parenting Time Adjustment would be calculated based
upon ninety-four (94) days of parenting time [67 + 84 + 132 = 283 / 3 = 94]. The Income Shares Worksheet
formula will automatically calculate this average by using the actual number of days spent with each child.
For this purpose, standard rounding rules apply.

(c) In cases of split parenting, both parents are eligible for a parenting time adjustment for the child(ren) for
whom the parent is the ARP unless a SSR is applied

(26) “Split Parenting” — For purposes of this chapter, “split parenting” can only occur in a child support case if
there are two (2) or more children of the same parents, where one (1) parent is PRP for at least one (1) child
of the parents, and the other parent is PRP for at least one (1) other child of the parents. In a split parenting
case, each parent is the PRP of any child spending more than fifty percent (50%) of the time with that parent
and is the ARP of any child spending more than fifty percent (50%) of the time with the other parent. A split
parenting situation will have two (2) PRPs and two (2) ARPs, but no child will have more than one (1) PRP or
ARP
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