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States

Model

Deviation (Y/N)

Category of Deviation

Time Unit

Shared/Joint Custody Determination

Alabama

Income Shares

Deviation

Not specified

Shared Custody is defined as that situation
where the physical placement is shared by
the parents in such a manner as to assure
the child frequent and continuing contact
and time with both parents.

Alaska

Percentage of Income

Y

Formula

Overnights

If the children reside with that parent for at
least 30 (110 overnights), but no more than
70, percent of the year

Arizona

Income Shares

Formula

Hours

To adjust for the costs of parenting time,
add each block of parenting time of the
noncustodial parent (humber of hours in
physical presence of the child) to arrive at
the total number of parenting time days per
year.

Arkansas

Percentage of Income

Y

Deviation

Days

Where the child spends more than 14
consecutive days with the noncustodial
parent, the court may grant an adjustment.




G

K

Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment

Visitation Deviations/Credits

Last Updated

Statute

The Alabama child support guidelines do not specifically
address the problem of establishing a support order in joint
legal custody situations. Such a situation may be considered by
the court as a reason for deviating from the guidelines in
appropriate situations, particularly if physical custody is jointly
shared by the parents. Shared physical custody, regardless of
“legal custodial arrangements,” is an appropriate reason for
deviation, Section (A)(1)(a). “ r written agreement of the parties.
When a shared physical custody situation results in a support
award that deviates from the award that would result from
application of the guidelines, the trial court’s order, or the
written agreement of the parties, must specify and explain the
reason for the deviation.

Not Specified

2019

Alabama Code 1975,§30-3-195

Calculate the annual amount each parent would pay to the
other parent under paragraph assuming the other parent had
primary custody. Multiply this amount for each parent by the
percentage of time the other parent will have physical custody
of the children. The parent with the larger figure is the obligor
parent and the annual award is equal to the difference between
the two figures multiplied by 1.5.

A visitation credit may be taken only if the
extended visitation actually exercised exceeds
27 consecutive days and the court has
authorized the specific amount of the credit.
The court may allow a partial credit (up to 75%
of total support for the period of extended
visitation) against a child support obligation.

2018

AS 25.20.090

Use parenting time adjustment table to multiply BCSO by
adjustment factor (ex., 4-20 days = 0.012; 173-182 days =
.486). Subtract the resulting figure from the proportionate share
of the Total Child Support Obligation.

Not Specified

2016

AZ Stat § 25-403.02

The court should consider whether an adjustment in child
support is appropriate, giving consideration to the fixed
obligations of the custodial parent which are attributable to the
child, to the increased costs of the noncustodial parent
associated with the child's visit, and to the relative incomes of
both parents.

In situations in which the noncustodial parent
has been granted annual visitation in excess of
14 consecutive days, the court may prorate
annually the reduction in order to maintain the
same amount of monthly child support
payments. However, if the noncustodial parent
does not exercise said extended visitations
during a particular year, the noncustodial
parent shall be required to pay the abated
amount of child support to the custodial parent.

2019

Ark. Code Ann. § 9-13-101.
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Code Language

States Guidelines (Website)

Alabama Code Language

Alabama Child Support Guidelines

Alaska Code Language

Alaska Child Support Guidelines

Arizona Code Language

Arizona Parenting Time Guidelines

Arkansas Code Language

Arkansas Parenting Child Support Guidelines



http://alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/codeofalabama/1975/30-3-195.htm
http://www.alacourt.gov/docs/Rule%2032,%20Ala.%20R.%20Jud.%20Admin.pdf
http://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#25.20.090
http://www.csed.state.ak.us/
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/25/00403-02.htm
https://des.az.gov/sites/default/files/2015CSGuidelinesRED.pdf
http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/assembly/2019/2019R/Bills/HB1325.pdf
https://www.arcourts.gov/rules-and-administrative-orders/court-rules/order-10-child-support-guidelines

A B C D E F
States Model Deviation (Y/N) |Category of Deviation Time Unit |Shared/Joint Custody Determination
2
California Income Shares Y Formula Hours The court will calculate "time-share" by
comparing the amount of time that each
parent has primary physical responsibility
for the child. The court will count the
numbers of hours or other portions of the
7 day a parent spends with his or her child.
Colorado Income Shares Y Formula Overnights  |Defined as more than 92 overnights each
year
8
Connecticut Income Shares Y Deviation Not specified | The commission amended the definition of
shared physical custody in response to
cases involving more equal parental
sharing of time and contact with the child.
The amendment also reflects a trend away
from “custodial/noncustodial” and
“visitation” language toward the concept of
shared parenting. The commission
recognizes that within the context of shared
physical custody, both parents are
essentially custodial.
9
Delaware Melson Formula Y Not specifically considered Overnights | The existing guidelines will now give
unless it is inequitable to apply parents with whom a child resides more
Melson. In this case, than 30% but less than half of annual
substantial visitation time that overnights the opportunity to share in a
amounts to a shared custody portion of the combined SOLA.
agreement can be considered
to decrease child support
amount.
10
District of Columbia |Hybrid Model (Y) Formula equal sharing of physical care and control

11

of the child is not required for a finding of
shared physical custody.




G I K L
Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment Visitation Deviations/Credits Last Updated |Statute
2
Add up the number of hours of visitation per year and divide Not Specified 2014 Cal. Fam code § 3040
that number by 8760 (the total number of hours in a regular
year). That will give the visitation percentage based on the
yearly visitation schedule.
7
An adjustment for shared custody is made by multiplying the Not Specified 2018 CO § 14-10-129.5
basic child support obligation by 1.5, and apportioning the
obligation between the parents based on the percentage of
8 |time the children spend with each parent.
The commission also added a provision to allow deviation from |Not Specified 2015 Section 46b-215a-1
the presumptive support amount when both parents have
substantially equal income. The commission continues to
reject the notion of a mathematical formula based on the time
spent with each parent to determine support amounts in the
shared physical custody context. Application of such a formula
would tend to shift the focus away from the best interests of the
child and more toward financial considerations, which would be
inconsistent with Connecticut law.
9
Where a court order or written agreement establishes or An adjustment will be triggered by the number 2018 § 2201 Designation of Title IV-D
confirms that a child spends an average of over 79 annual of overnights that a child is entitled to spend in agency.
overnights in the household of the parent from whom support is |the home of a child support obligor pursuant to
sought, that parent shall be entitled to retain a percentage of a court order or written agreement and is
both the primary support allowance and combined Standard of |intended to be an index of greater interest and
Living Adjustment. Additionally: o The percentage shall superior parenting skills. Modest fluctuations
correspond to designated ranges of the number of overnights  |between contact schedules and actual
of visitation as follows: [ Up to 79 0% [ 80—-124 visitation practices will not prompt any
10% 00 151 — 163 30% 1 164 or more shared placement |adjustment or the rebuttal of the Formula.
10
2007 § 16-916.01

11
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Code Language

States Guidelines (Website)

2

California Code Language California Child Support Guidelines
7

Colorado Code Language Colorado Child Support Guidelines
8

Connecticut Code Language Connecticut Child Support Guidelines
9

Delaware Code Language Delaware Child Support Guidelines
10

11

District of Columbia Code
Language

District of Columbia Child Support Guidelines



http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAM&division=8.&title=&part=2.&chapter=2.&article=
http://www.childsup.ca.gov/resources/calculatechildsupport.aspx
http://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/images/olls/crs2018-title-14.pdf
https://childsupport.state.co.us/siteuser/do/vfs/Frag?file=/cm:calcPayments.jsp
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7B50A8E155-0900-CD58-8487-44CDCC7EB8C5%7D
https://www.jud.ct.gov/Publications/ChildSupport/CSguidelines.pdf
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title13/c022/index.shtml
https://courts.delaware.gov/forms/download.aspx?id=39228
https://code.dccouncil.us/dc/council/code/sections/16-916.01.html
https://code.dccouncil.us/dc/council/code/sections/16-916.01.html
http://csgc.oag.dc.gov/application/main/intro.aspx
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States

Model

Deviation (Y/N)

Category of Deviation

Time Unit

Shared/Joint Custody Determination

12

Florida

Income Shares

Formula

Overnights

A court-ordered time-sharing schedule, or a
time-sharing arrangement exercised by
agreement of the parties, such as where
the child spends a significant amount of
time, but less than 20 percent of the
overnights, with one parent, thereby
reducing the financial expenditures incurred
by the other parent; or the refusal of a
parent to become involved in the activities
of the child.

13

Georgia

Income Shares

Discretionary

Not specified

"Joint physical custody" means that
physical custody is shared by the parents in
such a way as to assure the child of
substantially equal time and contact with
both parents.

14

Hawaii

Melson Formula

Formula

Overnights

Where parents have equally shared
custody, each parent is considered to have
six months custody, and support is
calculated on that basis.

15

Idaho

Income Shares

Formula

Overnights

Defined as more than 25% overnight in a
year with a parent.




G I K L
Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment Visitation Deviations/Credits Last Updated |Statute
2
Calculate the amount of support obligation apportioned to each |For purposes of adjusting any award of child 2018 (ss. 61.001-61.45)
parent without including day care and health insurance costs in |support under this paragraph, “substantial
the calculation and multiply the amount by 1.5. amount of time” means that a parent exercises
2. Calculate the percentage of overnight stays the child time-sharing at least 20 percent of the
spends with each parent. overnights of the year.
3. Multiply each parent’s support obligation as calculated in
subparagraph 1. by the percentage of the other parent’s
overnight stays with the child as calculated in subparagraph 2.
4. The difference between the amounts calculated in
subparagraph 3. shall be the monetary transfer necessary
between the parents for the care of the child, subject to an
adjustment for day care and health insurance expenses.
12
Not Specified Not Specified 2007 (O.C.G.A.) §19-6-15.
13
In such cases, prepare the Equal Time-Sharing Worksheetto  |When a parent has more than 143 overnights 2012 Hl Rev Stat § 571-46.5
determine the child support to be paid by each parent (Line 17 |per year,
of the Worksheet). To avoid unnecessary transfer of funds, the |but less than 183
“payout” of each parent for the year is determined by
multiplying the monthly support obligation of each parent by six
(6) months. If one parent’s total child support obligation is
greater than that owed by the other, the excess amount is
divided by 12 and paid monthly over the course of the year to
14 |the other parent.
To compute the adjustment, the Basic Child Support Guideline |In cases where a parent has 25% or less of 2013 Idaho Code Section 3 2-71 7.

15

obligation shall be multiplied by 1.5. The amount is then
multiplied by each parent's percentage of income. The resulting
amounts are then multiplied by the percentage of time the child
spends with the other parent. The respective child support
obligations are then offset, with the parent owing more child
support paying the difference between the two amounts. In no
event shall a parent be required to pay more support than the
parent would have paid had there not been split or shared
custody and all children were residing with the other parent.
Whenever the guidelines calculation results in a parent having
over 50% of the overnights paying child support, that parent
may show that such payment is inappropriate considering
factors (1) through (7) of Section 10(d) of the Guidelines.

the overnights, the Court may reduce the
amount of support if a parent has the child for
fourteen consecutive days or more.
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Code Language

States Guidelines (Website)

2

Florida Code Language Florida Child Support Guidelines
12

Georgia Code Language Georgia Child Support Guidelines
13

Hawaii Code Language Hawaii Child Support Guidelines
14

15

Idaho Code Language

Idaho Child Support Guidelines



http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Index&Title_Request=VI#TitleVI
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0000-0099/0061/Sections/0061.30.html
http://csc.georgiacourts.gov/content/legislation-and-rules
http://csc.georgiacourts.gov
https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol12_Ch0501-0588/HRS0571/HRS_0571-.htm
https://www.courts.state.hi.us/self-help/courts/forms/oahu/child_support
https://isc.idaho.gov/ircp16q
https://isc.idaho.gov/files/ICSG-July_1_2012.pdf

A B C D E F
States Model Deviation (Y/N) |Category of Deviation Time Unit |Shared/Joint Custody Determination
2
lllinois Income Shares Y Formula Overnights |Shared Custody definied as 146 overnights.
16
Indiana Income Shares Y Formula Overnights  |Parenting time is considered equally shared
when it is 181 to 183 overnights per year.
17
lowa Income Shares Y Adjustment Days Defined as 50% of the time spent with each
parent.
18
Kansas Income Shares Y Formula Days Defined as the regular sharing of residential
custody on an equal or nearly equal amount
of time.
19
Kentucky Income Shares N None NA N/A

20




G I K L
Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment Visitation Deviations/Credits Last Updated |Statute
2
Shared physical care. If each parent exercises 146 or more Not Specified 2019 (750 ILCS 5/505
overnights per year with the child, the basic child support
obligation is multiplied by 1.5 to calculate the shared care child
support obligation. The court shall determine each parent's
share of the shared care child support obligation based on the
parent's percentage share of combined net income. The child
support obligation is then computed for each parent by
multiplying that parent's portion of the shared care support
obligation by the percentage of time the child spends with the
16 |other parent.
To determine child support in these cases, either the mother or |As a result, these revisions provide a parenting |2016 IC 31-16-6
father must be designated as the parent who will pay the credit based upon the number of overnights
controlled expenses. Then, with the noncustodial parent ranging from 52
the other parent is given the parenting time credit. The overnights annually to equal parenting time. As
controlled expenses remain the sole obligation of the parent for |parenting time increases, a proportionally
whom the parenting time credit is not calculated. (There is a larger increase in the credit will occur.
parenting time credit worksheet to determine credit amount.
17
Joint physical care. In cases of court-ordered joint (equally If the noncustodial parents visitation exceeds 2019 lowa Code §§ 598.41.3
shared) physical care, child support shall be calculated in the 127 days per year, the noncustodial parent
Joint (Equally Shared) Physical Care Method of Child Support  |shall receive a credit to the guideline amount in
Computation grid. Offset is a method of payment of each accordance with a sliding scale based on the
parent’s guideline amount of child support and the net number of days.
difference shall be paid by the party with the higher child
support obligation unless variance is warranted under rule 9.11.
An allocation between the parties for payment of the
child(ren)’s expenses ordered pursuant to lowa Code section
598.41(5)(a) is an obligation in addition to the child support
amount calculated pursuant to this rule and is not child support.
18
The support is calculated using one worksheet, and the amount |In situations where a child spends fourteen 2018 KS Stat § 23-3208
of the lower net parent child support obligation is subtracted (14) or more consecutive days with the parent
from the higher amount. not having primary residency the support
amount of the parent not having primary
residency from Line F.5 (calculated without a
parenting time adjustment) may be
proportionately reduced by up to 50% of the
19 monthly support from Line F.5.
N/A 2018 921 KAR 1:020

20
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Code Language

States Guidelines (Website)

2

lllinois Code Language lllinois Child Support Guidelines
16

Indiana Code Language Indiana Child Support Guidelines
17

lowa Code Language lowa Child Support Guidelines
18

Kansas Code Language Kansas Child Support Guidelines
19

20

Kentucky Code Language

Kentucky Child Support Guidelines



http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=075000050K505
https://www.illinois.gov/hfs/ChildSupport/parents/Pages/IncomeShares.aspx
http://iga.in.gov/static-documents/1/0/e/a/10eaac1a/TITLE31_AR16_ch6.pdf
https://www.in.gov/judiciary/rules/child_support/#r1
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/598.41.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/CourtRulesChapter/08-31-2017.9.pdf
https://www.ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch23/023_032_0008.html
http://www.kscourts.org/rules-procedures-forms/child-support-guidelines/default.asp
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/Law/KAR/TITLE921.HTM
https://www.ardfky.org/sites/ardfky.org/files/CHILD%20SUPPORT%20GUIDELINES%20AND%20WORKSHEET.pdf
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States

Model

Deviation (Y/N)

Category of Deviation

Time Unit

Shared/Joint Custody Determination

21

Louisiana

Income Shares

Formula

Not specified

Each parent has physical custody for an
approximately equal amount of
time.

22

Maine

Income Shares

Formula

Days

An award of shared parental rights and
responsibilities may include either an
allocation of the child's primary residential
care to one parent and rights of parent-child
contact to the other parent, or a sharing of
the child's primary residential care by both

23

Maryland

Income Shares

Formula

Overnights

Shared Physical Custody definied as 128
overnights or 35%.

24

Massachusetts

Income Shares

Formula

Not specified

Varies

25

Michigan

Income Shares

Formula

Overnights

The minimum amount of overnights to
qualify for shared physical custody is 128 or
35% of the total annual parenting time.

26

Minnesota

Income Shares

Formula

Overnights

Each parent has physical custody for an
approximately equal amount of
time.




G I K L
Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment Visitation Deviations/Credits Last Updated |Statute
2
The basic child support obligation is multiplied by 1.5, and then |Not Specified 2018
divided between the parents in proportion to
their incomes. Each obligation is then offset by the other.
21
When the parents have agreed to an award of shared parental |E. "Joint Custody" means a joint custody order {2019 Title 19-A
rights and responsibilities or so agree in open court, the court  |that is not shared custody as defined in R.S.
shall make that award unless there is substantial evidence that [9:315.9.
it should not beordered. (1) In cases of joint custody, the court shall
consider the period of time spent by the child
22 with the nondomiciliary party as a basis for
In cases of shared physical custody, the adjusted basic child Not Specified 2012 § 12 —-204.
support obligation shall first be divided between the parents in
23 |proportion to their respective adjusted actual incomes. (2) Each
These guidelines apply to all types of parenting plan schedules. | The basic calculations under these guidelines |2018 MGL c.208, § 28
Information regarding whether the parents share financial are based upon the children having a primary
responsibility and parenting time for the children approximately |residence with one parent and spending
equally (shared), whether the children reside primarily with one |approximately one-third of the time with the
parent for approximately 2/3 of the time, and whether, in a other parent. Where parenting time is
family with more than one child covered by the order, each substantially less than one-third for the parent
parent provides a primary residence for at least one child (split) |who is not the residential parent, the Court
is entered directly into the worksheet. The worksheet will may consider deviation by an upward
calculate the presumptive child support order based on the adjustment to the amount
24 |information entered into the worksheet. calculated under the guidelines worksheet.
Substantial amount of time is defined as 52 overnights Not Specified 2017 Section 552.605
annually. In such a case, a special formula is used by cubing
numbers, using the parents; incomes and number of overnights
spent with each.
25
If the parenting time is equal and the parental incomes for The percentage of parenting time may be 2016 MN Rev Stat § 518.175

26

determining child support of the parents also are equal, no
basic support shall be paid unless the court determines that the
expenses for the child are not equally shared.

determined by calculating the number of
overnights or overnight equivalents that a
parent spends with a child pursuant to a court
order. Accounting for expenses requires
formula described in guidelines.



https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartII/TitleIII/Chapter208/Section28
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Code Language

States Guidelines (Website)

2
21
Maine Code Language Maine Child Support Guidelines
22
Maryland Code Language Maryland Child Support Guidelines
23
Massachusetts Code Language |Massachusetts Child Support Guidelines
24
Michigan Code Language Michigan Child Support Guidelines
25

26

Minnesota Code Language

Minnesota Child Support Guidelines



http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/19-A/title19-Asec2007.html
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/19-A/title19-Asec2007.html
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2019RS/Statute_Google/gfl/12-204.pdf
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/ess06-pubs/Exec/DHR/FL12-202(c)_2012(3).pdf
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartII/TitleIII/Chapter208/Section28
https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2018/05/21/child-support-guidelines-june-2018.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(kpsr2olqcdeqldirfxkiutnc))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-552-605
https://courts.michigan.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Publications/Manuals/focb/pt_gdlns.pdf
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518.17#stat.518.17.1
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.36
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Model

Deviation (Y/N)

Category of Deviation

Time Unit

Shared/Joint Custody Determination

27

Mississippi

Percentage of Income

Y

Deviation

Not specified

Not Specified

28

Missouri

Income Shares

Formula

Overnights

“Joint physical custody” means an order
awarding each of the parents significant but
not necessarily equal, periods of time
during which a child resides with or is under
the care and supervision of each of the
parents.

29

Montana

Melson Formula

Formula

Days

Defined as equal time spent between the
parents.

30

Nebraska

Income Shares

Formula

Days

Defind as when a specific provision for joint
physical custody is ordered and one party's
parenting time is 109 to 142 days per year.

31

Nevada

Percentage of Income

Y

Formula

Not specified

When you have joint physical custody, it
means that you equally share physical
custody with the other parent.

32

New Hampshire

Income Shares

Adjustment

Not specified

Equal or approximately equal parenting
residential responsibilities




G I K L
Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment Visitation Deviations/Credits Last Updated |Statute
2
Mississippi, state that shared parenting arrangements are a Not Specified 2017 § 43-19-101
deviation factor without providing more specific guidance. The
court of appeals has emphasized that chancellors have
considerable discretion in determining whether to deviate from
the guidelines based on shared parenting arrangements.
27
The Form 14 is part of this Parenting Plan and is found on Part | The adjustment shall be calculated by 2018 MS Rev Stat § 452.375
B, Page 8. The court will usually follow the Form 14, however, if |multiplying the basic child support amount by
the court finds that the child support calculated pursuant to the |the applicable adjustment (%) based on 36-
Form 14 is unjust or inappropriate, it will set child support ata |183 overnights. This adjustment is based on
different amount. EACH PARENT’S SUPPORT OBLIGATION |the number of periods of overnight visitation or
(Multiply line 8 by each parent’s line 4) custody per year awarded to and exercised by
the parent obligated to pay support under any
28 order or judgment.
The parents' incomes available for child support are combined |When at least one child spends more than 110 |2017 MO Rev Stat § 40-4-219
to determine the total income available for child support. Each |days per year with both parents, however, or
income is divided by the total. The resulting factor determines  |when at least one child resides primarily with
each parent's share of the primary child support allowance each parent, the transfer payment is adjusted
under ARM 37.62.121 and supplements under ARM 37.62.123. |according to ARM 37.62.134.
29
Each parent’s percent contribution (% from line 6, worksheet 1) |During visitation periods of four or more 2018 NE Rev Stat § 42-364
added to the Monthly support obligation from table 1 (from line |weeks, support payments may be reduced by
7, worksheet 1) plus Joint physical support obligation (line 2 50%.
times 1.5) plus Each parent’s share (line 1 times line 3) plus
Number of days annually child(ren) is in custody of each parent
multplied by Percentage of year child(ren) is in custody of each
parent (line 5 divided by 365) plus Mother’s obligation to father
(line 4 mother column, times % on line 6 father column)plus
Father’s obligation to mother (line 4 father column, times % on
line 6 mother column) divided by Father/mother obligation for
support (difference between lines 7 and 8)
30
Each parent’s gross monthly income is multiplied by the Not Specified 2017 NV Rev Stat § 125C.010
percentage. The amounts are subtracted from each other. The
parent with the higher income pays the remaining amount.
31
Not Specified Not Specified 2018 Section 458-C:1

32
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Code Language

States Guidelines (Website)

2

Mississippi Code Lanquage Mississippi Child Support Guidelines
27

Missouri Code Language Missouri Child Support Guidelines
28

Montana Code Language Montana Child Support Guidelines
29

Nebraska Code Language Nebraska Child Support Guidelines
30

Nevada Code Language Nevada Child Support Guidelines
31

32

New Hampshire Code Lanquage

New Hampshire Child Support Guidelines



https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ad7c62f4-2498-403a-aca0-444a9b61e61c&config=00JABhZDIzMTViZS04NjcxLTQ1MDItOTllOS03MDg0ZTQxYzU4ZTQKAFBvZENhdGFsb2f8inKxYiqNVSihJeNKRlUp&pddocfullpath=%2fshared%2fdocument%2fstatutes-legislation%2f
http://www.mdhs.ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Child-Support-Manual-Revised_2.19.pdf
http://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=452.375&bid=34916&hl=
https://dss.mo.gov/child-support/
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0400/chapter_0040/part_0020/section_0190/0400-0040-0020-0190.html
https://dphhs.mt.gov/csed/services/guidelinespacket
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=42-364
https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/self-help/families-children/establishing-paternity-custody-parenting-time-child-support
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-125c.html#NRS125CSec010
https://nevadalawhelp.org/es/resource/child-support
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XLIII/458-C/458-C-mrg.htm
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcss/documents/dcss-guide-book.pdf
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F

States

Model

Deviation (Y/N)

Category of Deviation

Time Unit

Shared/Joint Custody Determination

33

New Jersey

Income Shares

Formula (Different Worksheet)

Overnights

Shared Parenting - A Parent of Primary
Residence (PPR) is a parent who provides
a residence for the child for more than 50%
of overnights annually or, if sharing is
equal, provides the residence for the child
while he or she is attending school. The
PPR may be either the obligee or obligor
depending on the parents' income and
amount of time spent with the child.

34

New Mexico

Income Shares

<

Formula (Different Worksheet)

Days

Shared responsibility means custody

35

New York

Income Shares

Formula

Not specified

A court order that gives parents joint legal

36

North Carolina

Income Shares

Formula

Overnights

Shared custody, defined as 123 overnights

37

North Dakota

Percentage of Income

Y

Formula

Overnights

Equal residential responsibility means each
parent has residential responsibility for the
child or children for an equal amount of
time as determined by the court.

38

Ohio

Income Shares

Formula

Overnights

Not Specified




G I K L
Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment Visitation Deviations/Credits Last Updated |Statute
2
The court may grant the non-custodial parent an adjustment for |Not Specified 2018 N.J.A.C. 10:110-13.2
parenting time equal to that parent's income share of the child's
variable expenses for the percentage of time the child is with
that parent. When determining if the adjustment is appropriate,
the court should consider whether the non- custodial parent
has incurred variable expenses for the child during the
parenting time period and if parenting time reduced the other
parent's variable expenses for the child. It is assumed that
variable costs (food and transportation) for the child account for
37% of the total marginal child-rearing expenditures in intact
families. The parenting time adjustment should not exceed the
parent's time share of the variable costs for the child.
33
34 |In shared responsibility situations, each parent retains the Not Specified 2017 NM Rev Stat § 40-4-9.1
35 |Not Specified Deviations from CSBO are permitted for 2019 Section 240-B
A special worksheet is provided whereby each parents Not Specified 2019 § 110 - 128.
obligation is figured based on the percentage of time the
children spend with each parent.
36
If equal residential responsibility is ordered for all the children, a |A special adjustment is provided for extended |2016 ND Rev Stat § 14-0-06
child support obligation for each parent must be calculated visitation, defined as 60 of 90 overnights or an
under this chapter, and specifically ordered, assuming the other |annual total of 164 nights, by multiplying the
parent has primary residential responsibility for the child or obligation by
children subject to the equal residential responsibility order. 0.32.
The lesser obligation is then subtracted from the greater. The
difference is the child support amount owed by the parent with
the greater obligation.
37
If court-ordered parenting time exceeds ninety overnights per  |Except as otherwise provided in this section, a [2019 321.01
year, the court shall consider whether to grant a deviation court or child support enforcement agency
pursuant to section 3119.22 of the Revised Code for the reason |calculating the amount to be paid under a child
set forth in division support order shall reduce by ten per cent the
amount of the annual individual support
obligation for the parent or parents when a
court has issued or is issuing a court-ordered
parenting time order that equals or exceeds
ninety overnights per year. This reduction may
be in addition to the other deviations and
38 reductions.




M

N

Code Language

States Guidelines (Website)

2

New Jersey Code Language New Jersey Child Support Guidelines
33
34 |New Mexico Code Language New Mexico Child Support Guidelines
35 |New York Code Language New York Child Support Guidelines

North Carolina Code Language |North Carolina Child Support Guidelines
36

North Dakota Code Language North Dakota Child Support Guidelines
37

38

Ohio Code Language

Ohio Child Support Guidelines



https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=cf0d9741-6f8b-4a9e-838a-83dd1e132863&config=00JAA1YTg5OGJlYi04MTI4LTRlNjQtYTc4Yi03NTQxN2E5NmE0ZjQKAFBvZENhdGFsb2ftaXPxZTR7bRPtX1Jok9kz&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fadministrative-codes%2F
https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/assets/rules/r5-6a.pdf
http://public.nmcompcomm.us/nmpublic/gateway.dll/?f=templates&fn=default.htm
http://www.hsd.state.nm.us/LookingForInformation/child-support-enforcement-division-1.aspx
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/DOM/240-C
https://www.childsupport.ny.gov/dcse/pdfs/CSSA.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_110/Article_9.pdf
https://www.nccourts.gov/assets/documents/forms/a162.pdf?I2wd9scwxX6xD8PqjhaPc7mlY3k.ji79
https://www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/t14c09.pdf
https://childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/lawyers/child-support-guidelines
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3121.01v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3121

A

C

D

E

F

States

Model

Deviation (Y/N)

Category of Deviation

Time Unit

Shared/Joint Custody Determination

39

Oklahoma

Income Shares

Adjustment

Overnights

Defined as 120 nights per year.

40

Oregon

Income Shares

Formula

Overnights

The non-primary custodian has at least 20
percent
parenting time.

41

Pennsylvania

Income Shares

Formula for Deviation

Days

Shared Custody. In creating the new
schedule, the amounts of basic child
support were first increased to reflect
updated economic data, including 2008
price levels. Next, the amounts of basic
child support were adjusted to incorporate
into the schedule the assumption that the
children spend 30% of the time with the
obligor and that the obligor makes direct
expenditures on their behalf during that

42

Rhode Island

Income Shares

Deviation

Not specified

Not Specified




G

K

Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment

Visitation Deviations/Credits

Last Updated

Statute

39

The percentage of time a child spends with each parent shall
be calculated by determining the number of overnights for each
parent and dividing that number by 365.The share of the
adjusted combined child support obligation for each parent
shall then be multiplied by the percentage of time the child
spends with the other parent to determine the base child
support obligation owed to the other parent.

The court may make an

adjustment for periods of extended visitation.

2018

OK Rev Stat § 43-118

40

If the court or administrative law judge determines actual
parenting time exercised by a parent is different than what is
provided in a written parenting plan or court order, the
parenting time overnights may be calculated using the actual
parenting time exercised by the parent. credit percentage=
1/(1+e(-7.14*((overnights/365)-0.5)))-
2.74%+(2*2.74%*(overnights/365))

Not Specified

2017

OR Rev Stat § 107.102

41

The revised schedule assumes that the obligor has 30%
parenting time. The obligor will receive an additional 10%
reduction in the amount of support owed at 40% parenting time,
increasing incrementally to a 20% reduction at 50% parenting
time. This method may still result in a support obligation even if
custody of the children is equally shared. In those cases, the
rule provides for a maximum obligation which may reduce the
obligation so that the obligee does not receive a larger portion
of the parties’ combined income than the obligor.

Not Specified

2017

Rule 1910.16-4.

42

Since the guidelines do not specifically address or consider
cases involving split custody, third-party custody or extensive
sharing of physical custody, the court, in its discretion, may find
it necessary to deviate from the guidelines.

Not Specified

2017

§ 15-9-1.




M

N

Code Language

States Guidelines (Website)

2

Oklahoma Code Language Oklahoma Child Support Guidelines
39

Oregon Code Language Oregon Child Support Guidelines
40

Pennsylvania Code Language Pennsylvania Child Support Guidelines
41

42

Rhode Island Code Language

Rhode Island Child Support Guidelines



http://www.oklegislature.gov/osstatuestitle.html
http://www.okdhs.org/services/ocss/Pages/computation.aspx
https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/107.102
https://www.doj.state.or.us/child-support/calculators-forms/child-support-calculator/
https://www.pacode.com/secure/data/231/chapter1910/s1910.16-4.html
https://www.pacode.com/secure/data/231/chapter1910/s1910.16-1.html
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE15/15-9/15-9-1.HTM
http://www.cse.ri.gov/documents/RI_CS_Guideline-2017.pdf

A

C

D

E

F

States

Model

Deviation (Y/N)

Category of Deviation

Time Unit

Shared/Joint Custody Determination

43

South Carolina

Income Shares

Formula (Different Worksheet)

Overnights

Shared physical custody means that each
parent has court ordered visitation with the
children overnight for more than 109
overnights each year (30%) and that both
parents contribute to the expenses of the
child(ren) in addition to the payment of child
support.

44

South Dakota

Income Shares

Formula/Credit

Overnights

The court order allows the child to spend at
least 180 nights per calendar year in each
home, and both parents have agreed in
writing to share the duties, responsibilities
and expenses of parenting, including any
expenses for the child's education,
recreation and entertainment activities.

45

Tennessee

Income Shares

Adjustment

Days

In fifty-fifty/equal parenting situations, the
adjustment is based upon each parent
exercising one hundred eighty-two and one-
half (182.5) days of parenting time.

46

Texas

Percentage of Income

Deviation

Not specified

47

Utah

Income Shares

Adjustment

Overnights

In this arrangement, children live with one




G | K L
Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment Visitation Deviations/Credits Last Updated |Statute
2
The basic child support obligation shall be multiplied by 1.5to  |If a parent has more than 109 overnights but {2015 Section 63-17-10.
arrive at a shared custody basic child support obligation. The less than 128 overnights, a graduated support
shared custody basic child support obligation is apportioned to |obligation should be determined. The
each parent according to his or her income. In turn, a child graduated support obligation reflects a
support obligation is computed for each parent by multiplying transition between the full shared physical
that parent’s portion of the shared custody child support custody obligation and the sole custody
obligation by the percentage of time the child(ren) spend(s) with |obligation, thus requiring the completion of
that parent. The respective basic child support obligations are  |both Worksheet A and Worksheet C.
then offset, with the parent owing more basic child support
paying the difference between the two amounts, subject to the
provisions below. The transfer for the basic obligation for the
parent owing less basic child support shall be set at zero
43 |dollars.
Shared Responsibility Combined Obligation (5C x 6 1.5) plus Not Specified 2012 SDCL 25-4A-10, 25-4A-11
Each Parent's Share (Line 6C x each parent's Line 3) plus
Nights With Each Parent (must total 365)
times Percentage With Each Parent (Line 8 divided by 365)
plus Each Parent's Basic Obligation (Column A = 7A x 9B.
Column B = 7B x 9A)
44 | subtracted bv the Base Shared Resnonsibilitv Obliaation
If a support obligation is being calculated for a fifty-fifty/equal If the ARP spends sixty-eight (68) or fewer 2018 Tenn. Code Ann. § 36-6-101
parenting situation in conjunction with a standard parenting days per calendar year with the child(ren) in
situation, the BCSO for the fifty- fifty/equal parenting situation  |the case, the ARP’s child support obligation
shall be assigned to the parent who is the PRP for the other may be increased for the lack of parenting
children subject to the child support order. The parenting time  |time. The first step in calculating the increase
adjustment shall be assigned to the ARP and shall be is to determine the number of days fewer than
calculated on a BCSO that has been pro-rated based upon the |sixty-nine (69) the ARP spends with the child
number of child(ren) included in the standard parenting and then divide this number of days by three
situation and the number of child(ren) included in the fifty- hundred sixty-five (365). For example, if the
fifty/fequal parenting situation. (First, the variable multiplier is ARP has sixty-eight (68) days of parenting
determined by multiplying a standard per diem of .0109589 [2 / |time, the percentage of days is 0.002739726
182.5] by the ARP’s parenting time determined pursuant to [69 — 68 = 1; 1/365].
paragraph (7)(b) above. For example, the 94 days of parenting
time calculated in the example from paragraph (7)(b)4(i) is
multiplied by .0109589, resulting in a variable multiplier of
45 ]1.0301366 [94 x .0109589].
46 |The entire amount of the presumptive award be subtracted Not Specified 2017 TX Rev Stat § 153.001
47 |Combine the adjusted gross incomes of the parents and If the obligors time with the children exceeds 2018 Utah Code 30-3-35.5.
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Code Language
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2

South Carolina Code Language |South Carolina Child Support Guidelines
43

South Dakota Code Language South Dakota Parenting Time Guidelines
44

Tenneessee Code Language Tennessee Child Support Guidelines
45
46 |Texas Code Language Texas Child Support Guidelines

47

Utah Code Language

Utah Parenting Time Guidelines



https://www.scstatehouse.gov/Archives/CodeofLaws2016/t63c017.php
https://dss.sc.gov/media/1585/2014-child-support-guidelines-booklet.pdf
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=25-4A-11
https://ujs.sd.gov/uploads/pubs/UJS%20302%20-%20South%20Dakota%20Visitation%20Guidelines.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=fc1d6527-09f0-4db7-b265-8a6e202fc4ba&nodeid=ABKAAGAABAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABK%2FABKAAG%2FABKAAGAAB%2FABKAAGAABAAB&level=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=36-6-101.+Decree+for+custody+and+sup
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-services/documents/ISGuidelines_pre072208.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.153.htm
https://childandfamilyresearch.utexas.edu/child-support-guidelines-texas
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title30/Chapter3/30-3-S35.html?v=C30-3-S35_1800010118000101
https://www.utcourts.gov/howto/divorce/custody.html

A

C

D

E

F

States

Model

Deviation (Y/N)

Category of Deviation

Time Unit

Shared/Joint Custody Determination

48

Vermont

Income Shares

Formula

Days

Shared. Both parents shall share in the
responsibility for making major decisions.
Unless emergency circumstances exist
(see day to day decisions below), the
parents will consult with each other and
reach a decision that they both agree to
before taking action on a major issue.

49

Virginia

Income Shares

Deviation

Days

Where a party has custody or visitation of a
child or children for more than 90 days of
the year, as such days are defined in
subdivision G 3 (c), a shared custody child
support amount based on the ratio in which
the parents share the custody and visitation
of any child or children shall be calculated
in accordance with this subdivision.

50

Washington

Income Shares

Deviation

Days

Where a party has custody or visitation of a

51

West Virginia

Income Shares

Formula/sepearte worksheet

Overnights

Shared custody means 35% (127 days)
custody (overnights) by the noncustodial
parent.
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Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment

Visitation Deviations/Credits

Last Updated

Statute

48

When each parent exercises physical custody for 30% or more,
the total support obligation shall be increased by 50% to reflect
the cost of maintaining two households. Each parental
obligation shall be determined by dividing the total support
obligation between the parents in proportion to their respective
available incomes and in proportion to the amount of time each
parent exercises physical custody. The parental obligation shall
then be offset, with the parent owing the larger paying the
difference between the larger and the smaller.When one parent
exercises physical custody for 25% or more but less than 30%,

support shall be determined according to the shared costs table.

Not Specified

2018

15 V.S.A. § 659

49

Shared support need. "Shared support need" means the
presumptive guideline amount of needed support for the shared
child or children calculated pursuant to subsection B of this
section, for the combined gross income of the parties and the
number of shared children, multiplied by 1.4.

Not Specified

2018

§ 20-108.1.

50

The shared support need of the shared child or children shall

Not Specified

2018

WA Rev Stat § 26.09.184

51

The basic child support obligation is multiplied by 1.5 to arrive
at a shared parenting basic child support obligation. The
shared parenting basic child support obligation is apportioned
to each parent according to his or her income. In turn, a child
support obligation is computed for each parent by multiplying
that parent's portion of the shared parenting child support
obligation by the percentage of time the child spends with the
other parent. The respective basic child support obligations are
then offset, with the parent owing more basic child support
paying the difference between the two amounts. The transfer
for the basic obligation for the parent owing less basic child
support shall be set at zero dollars.

Not Specified

2015

§48-13-101.
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Code Language

States Guidelines (Website)

2
Vermont Code Language Vermont Child Support Guidelines
48
Virginia Code Language Virginia Child Support Guidelines
49
50 |Washington Code Language Washington Child Support Guidelines

51

West Virginia Code Language

West Virginia Child Support Guidelines



https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/15/011/00659
https://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/OCS/Docs/CS-Guidelines.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title20/chapter6/section20-108.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title20/chapter6/section20-108.2/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.09.184
http://washingtonchildsupport.com/washington-child-support-guidelines.html
http://www.wvlegislature.gov/WVCODE/code.cfm?chap=48&art=13#13
http://www.wvlegislature.gov/WVCODE/code.cfm?chap=48&art=13#13

A B C D E F
States Model Deviation (Y/N) |Category of Deviation Time Unit |Shared/Joint Custody Determination
2
Wisconsin Percentage of Income |Y Formula Days The parents will share the placement of
their children at least 25% of the time - at
least 92 days/year.
52
Wyoming Income Shares Y Formula Overnights  |When each parent keeps the children

53

overnight for more than 40% of the year
and both parents contribute substantially to
the expenses of the child.
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Shared Custody Deviation/Adjustment

Visitation Deviations/Credits

Last Updated

Statute

52

Multiply the Monthly Income by the Percentage Standard for 2
children (25%), For each parent, multiply the amount in line #1
by 150%. The 150% accounts for the basic support provided by
both parents (food, shelter, clothing, etc.), Multiply the amount
in line #2 by the percent of time the children spends with the
other parent, Offset — subtract the amount in line #3 for Parent
A (the parent with the lower amount) from the amount in line #3
for Parent B (parent with the higher amount).

Not Specified

2018

WI Rev Stat § 767.41

53

The joint presumptive support amount shall be divided by the
number of children to determine the presumptive support
obligation for each child, which amount shall then be allocated
to each parent based upon the number of those children in the
physical custody of for whom that parent has the majority of
yearly overnight parenting time. That sum shall be multiplied by
the percentage that the other parent's net income bears to the
total net income of both parents. The obligations so determined
shall then be offset, with the parent owing the larger amount
paying the difference between the two (2) amounts to the other
parent as a net child support obligation.

An abatement for extended visitation (child
spends 15 or more consecutive days with
obligated parent).

2018

WY Rev Stat § 20-5-405
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52

Wisconsin Code Language

Wisconsin Child Support Guidelines

53

Wyoming Code Language

Wyoming Child Support Guidelines



https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/767/V/41
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cs/order/guidelines-serial
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6e30d220-d717-45e9-bbf6-e12823a1cc87&nodeid=AAUAAGAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAU%2FAAUAAG%2FAAUAAGAAB&level=3&haschildren=&populated=false&title=Chapter+5+Child+Custody&config=00JABmMTEzODA5Zi0wOWExL
https://www.wyoleg.gov/interimCommittee/2017/01-0420APPENDIX9-7.pdf
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