2018 Economic Study

The Georgia Commission on Child Support (hereinafter “Commission”) is seeking public comment on the 2018 Economic Study of the Basic Child Support Obligation (BCSO) table of the Child Support Guidelines found at O.C.G.A. § 19-6-15, used in the calculation of child support.  Pursuant to the Code of Federal Regulations, 45 CFR 302.56(h)(3), the following is required.

45 CFR 302.56(h)(3): “Provide a meaningful opportunity for public input, including input from low-income custodial and noncustodial parents and their representatives.  The State must also obtain the views and advice of the State child support agency funded under title IV-D of the Act.”

Every four years the Commission conducts a study to determine the appropriateness of child support order amounts across the state.  A recommendation to maintain the amounts currently used in Georgia’s Basic Child Support Obligation table has been made by Dr. Jane Venohr, Ph.D., Economist/Research Associate, at the Center for Policy Research.  Dr. Venohr was contracted by the Commission to study economic and case data in order to make an independent recommendation.  The Commission welcomes your comments on the study. 

Click here to download the study

There are two different ways to provide comments. 

  1. Register and attend the public hearing, or
  2. Provide online written comments on the Commission website.  Online submissions may be made through November 1, 2018 at 12pm.

A public hearing will be held on Thursday, November 1, 2018 at 6:00 p.m., in the Boardroom of Georgia Public Broadcasting, 260 14th Street, N.W., Atlanta, Georgia 30318, to accept public comments on the 2018 Economic Study Report.  Those who plan to speak at the hearing are asked to register in advance and follow the instructions provided.




Comments received will be considered by the Economic Study Committee and the full Child Support Commission.  The Commission consists of 15 members appointed by the Governor of Georgia to serve specific terms.  The membership must consist of three superior court judges, one Justice of the Georgia Supreme Court or a judge of the Court of Appeals, or their respective designees, two members of the House of Representatives and two members of the Senate, and seven other members, pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 19-6-51.  The current Commission members are:


  1. Judge Michael Key, Chair
  2. Rep. Timothy Barr
  3. Rep. Beth Beskin
  4. Presiding Judge Anne Elizabeth Barnes
  5. Mr. Charles (“Chuck”) Clay
  6. Ms. Kathleen (“Katie”) Connell
  7. Sen. Chuck Hufstetler
  8. Sen. Emanuel Jones
  9. Judge Shawn Lagrua
  10. Judge Todd Markle
  11. Judge Emory Palmer
  12. Judge Lisa C. Rambo
  13. Mr. Ronald (“Rick”) Smith
  14. Dr. Roger Tutterow
  15. Ms. Wendy Williamson

 Georgia’s Income Shares Guidelines, O.C.G.A. § 19-6-15, were effective January 1, 2007.  The next quadrennial review will be conducted in the year 2022.